Low Emission Zone

EDINBURGH City Council has released proposal for its Low Emission Zone (LEZ). The plans include two zones: one within Edinburgh’s city centre, and a second phase that encapsulates the city wide boundary marked by the A720 bypass. Both aim to be implement at the end of 2020.

The zones will ban all vehicles that do not meet the minimum emissions standards; these will be Euro 6 for HGVs, vans, buses and diesel cars, and Euro 4 for petrol cars. The city centre zone will have a grace period until 2021 for commercial vehicles and buses, and until 2023 for cars. The city wide boundary zone, which does not appear to include cars at this stage, will have a grace period until 2023.

Share this story